Congratulations to KLAINE for winning Best Couple in the 'Best. Ever. TV. Awards 2014'!!
Klaine were ahead and winning on Sunday, July 6 at 5pm which is when Eonline.com says the poll finished.

Site Info
Members: 15602
Series: 323
Stories: 8226
Chapters: 36862
Word count: 94510618
Authors: 2712
Reviews: 76094
Reviewers: 4589
Newest Member: christineladera
Beta-reader: 760
 
 
Featured Stories (Recommend A Fic)
Coda by GSJwrites (Rated: M)
Kurt Hummel turned his back on a successful career as an influential wine critic to marry Blaine Anderson, the bright, artistic and occasionally vexing owner of a Sonoma winery. Nearly a year into their marriage, they both find themselves struggling with the side effects of success. The sequel to Sotto Voce.
Hell & High Water by Mmerainbows (Rated: M)
Kurt counted the days even though no one else did anymore, and for what, he didn’t know. His dad died eight years ago, and he had no other family to speak of. His days were monotonous and thankless as he hunted for the community he lived in. Long gone were the days when he could dabble in music and fashion because that world no longer existed, and without those things - who was Kurt Hummel really? Until the day an emergency transmission is received and what Kurt is forced to reconsider...
The High Road by Twitchy Squirrel (Rated: M)
When Kurt picks up a curly haired hitchhiker on a drive to Seattle, he is forced to re-examine how he’s been living his life and why.
 
Log In

Skin Change
 
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: heartsmayforeverbeat Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 02:13 AM Title: Chapter 36

In this story I have found the fic I have been searching for my whole life, I never knew what I wanted until this. I always loved the 50's but never thought of a Klaine fic set in the time. This story was truly amazing. Bravo

 

Reviewer: caitlin913 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2012 05:27 PM Title: Chapter 36

Oh my God. This story is SO heart breaking. Please for the love of all that is holly please tell me you ate writing a sequel?!!

Reviewer: 3319hdg Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/24/2012 08:08 PM Title: Chapter 36

I don't even know where to begin. All if the other reviewers are correct; it was a heart breaking sensation. Not only is the concept intriguing, but it's also well written an extremely thought out. Even though I'm one of those people who usually just want there to be a "kiss and makeup," it's never that easy in real life, and you did an excellent job at conveying that. Although, I must say that it's lead me to decide that I have a strong distaste for the time period. Anyways, it was amazing and I'm on to the next! 😘

Reviewer: TenthDoctor79 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/12/2012 07:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

This story broke my heart.  I did the math, and couldn't help but think of 70 year old gay men today who would have been Kurt's age in 1959--and my heart broke for them all over again.

But, apparently I'm a masochist, because I'm gonna go start the sequel now.

Reviewer: smeowlly Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2012 02:59 PM Title: Chapter 36

Let me try again.

I liked how.. realistic this all was. Back then, this stuff was very real, very hard to deal with, and you captured that. Although, it was a little too real. I'm like this version of the Kurt you wrote out. I'm so optimistic that when my dreams are shattered, I feel broken. This story broke my heart because it's not like Kurt was asking Blaine to walk around holding his hand. He just wanted to be 'bachelors' in New York with Blaine, lovers with the windows closed. And Blaine couldn't do that one little thing for Kurt. For that, I hate him here. I understand he was scared. He had a lot to be scared of. But love is love. It's wonderful. And they never even verbalized it, although they both just knew. I feel sick thinking about Blaine running away like that, about Kurt doing that to him.

Geez. A+ all around, basically.

Reviewer: smeowlly Signed starhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2012 02:55 PM Title: Chapter 36

THIS ISN'T FAIR I FREAKING HATE IT UGH I LOVE THEM WHY CANT THEY BE HAPPY TOGETHER IM SO UPSET THAT IM NOT EVEN USING PROPER GRAMMAR DONT JUDGE ME AT LEAST I CAN STILL SPELL OH MH GOSDAFGRFBDF OKAY BYE GOOD STUFF BUT UGH JUST UGHHHHH

Reviewer: InsularFLY Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2012 05:07 PM Title: Chapter 9

so close yet so far!!!

Reviewer: imahistorygeek Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2012 10:15 AM Title: Chapter 36

Wow...this was all so amazing. My heart hurts. This is one of the best I've ever read. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Reviewer: LadyMacKlaine Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2012 02:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, This was the best and the worst story I've read in a while.

I loved it. Well done.

Reviewer: 10points4dumbledore Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/11/2012 05:10 PM Title: Chapter 4

Ah, yes. The good old days - when lobotomies and/or electroshock therapy were considered legitimate treatment for any number of "ills". Sigh.

Reviewer: whatsgoingon Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2012 10:00 PM Title: Chapter 8

I'm only on chapter.eight and I cannot stop reading.this story. Its beautifully written. This deserves so much more attention than its getting.

Reviewer: drabblesthegoldfish Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2012 03:19 AM Title: Chapter 18

You are killing me with sadness.

Reviewer: gagaforklaine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2012 07:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Just...wow

I could feel my heart breaking with kurts in those last few chapters. I couldn't stop the sobs. Rose's turn in that last chapter was perfect.

The whole piece was so f***ing beautiful.

Reviewer: drabblesthegoldfish Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/25/2012 02:43 PM Title: Chapter 9

*watches as the ashes of her heart float away*

Reviewer: drabblesthegoldfish Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2012 11:59 PM Title: Chapter 6

Ugh, you're killing me, Smalls...

Reviewer: drabblesthegoldfish Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2012 11:23 PM Title: Chapter 5

Oh, so this is the part where you crush my broken heart under your heel, isn't it? :'(

Reviewer: drabblesthegoldfish Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2012 11:13 PM Title: Chapter 4

Here, just take the shattered remains of my heart and stomp on them.

Reviewer: IamAnabelle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2012 12:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

I'm currently at chapter 14 and... Wow. Amazing. This story is addictive.
I will review again once I'm finished, and reading that other review discouraged me a bit... I agree with everything mentioned in it about how well you captured everything, but I must admit that I'm a little bit afraid about the ending... I'm not convinced it won't end well. At least not with happy ending, and I'm nothing if I'm not a sucker for happy endings. Buuut, I'll see!
I can't wait for boys to do something, anything about their feelings for each other.. If they will[?].
Anyways, amazing job!

Author's Response: Well, this is story 1 of a series. So while this one might not end as happily as one would like, that's not to say their feelings will remain lost and/or unrequited forever. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: cateyedsnake Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2012 03:31 AM Title: Chapter 36

Oh, wow. So, this story hooked me instantly because it is two things I love: Klaine and period pieces.

First, I just have to say "bravo" with how well you captured what the real 1950s were like (I wasn't alive then, but it's an era of great interest to me). I run a YouTube channel that has a lot of 1950s music and I frequently get comments from people waxing nostalgic about the decade, whether they lived through it or not, going on about how wonderful and perfect it was back then. Now, I admire the aesthetics of the 1950s (space age furniture, some of the clothes, etc.) as well as the music, but one couldn't pay me enough to travel back to them and live there and your story illustrates exactly why: the racism, the homophobia, the sexism...Not that things are perfect today, but yeah, we've come a long way.

Second, man, that was a downer of an ending, but a sadly realistic one. Blaine reminds me a lot of how things ended for the character of Clive Durham in the novel/movie Maurice: destined to be trapped and miserable for the rest of his life while constantly projecting an image of "normality". Personally I'm a bit of an eternal optimist and choose to believe that Kurt and he will eventually be reunited, perhaps in a certain bar in 1969 New York City? ;)

Third, excellent selection of music. Everything from "Why Do Fools Fall In Love" to "Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart" to "Somewhere". Another song from the 50s that came to my mind throughout the story is Jimmie Rodgers' "Secretly".

Lastly, awesome job with capturing everyone's character while adapting them to the time period: Quinn's pregnancy, Santana's insecurity as she tries to pass as white, Sam's struggle with dyslexia and his general dorkiness (Elvish = Genius), Rachel's dads, Rachel period. And I think it goes without saying that I think you did amazingly with Klaine. Kurt's romanticism and Blaine's painfully real struggle, you win all the awards.

Yeah, I'm sure you're through with my gushing now, but seriously, thank you for having written this.

Author's Response: Anyone who knows Maurice gets extra points in my book! I'm actually disappointed because I had a whole idea for using that book in the third story (Blaine's story, really), but it wasn't publishd until the 70s despite being written more than 50 years earlier. Drat. But that's exactly where Blaine is, at least until/unless something changes. And they will indeed be reunited, though not there *or* then. ;) I didn't know that song, I have to admit, but it's absolutely perfect. It may have to make an appearance elsewhere. Thanks for reading (and commenting)!

You must login (register) to review.

Disclaimer: Glee, Kurt Hummel, Blaine Anderson, and all other recognizable characters, settings, etc. are the property of Ryan Murphy, Ian Brennan, Brad Falchuk, and Fox. Used without permission. No copyright infringement is intended. No money is being made off of this site. All original characters and plots are the property of the individual writers and plagiarism of individual works will not be tolerated. Authors and works featured on this site do not represent the views and opinions of the Administrators. Scarves & Coffee 2011-2014 ( Klainers Klaining! )